The Community Energy Association has announced that the District of Saanich, City of Powell River and Cowichan Valley Regional District are the winners of the 2020 Climate & Energy Action Awards. Eight BC Local Governments were award nominees.

The awards draw attention to progressive communities taking action on climate change. They have demonstrated exceptional climate leadership, and are setting examples for communities across British Columbia.

The District of Saanich won in the Community Planning and Development category for “2020 Climate Plan: 100% Renewable & Resilient Saanich.” This is a comprehensive ten-year planned response to climate change.

The City of Powell River won in the Corporate Operations category for its overall corporate climate action strategy and Climate Action in a Small Coastal Town.

The Cowichan Valley Regional District has won for “Climate Risk Assessment Framework for Infrastructure.” The CVRD developed a process to ensure future climate impacts are considered in long term infrastructure planning.

The awards are organized annually by the Community Energy Association in partnership with the Province of British Columbia, Union of BC Municipalities, BC Hydro, FortisBC, and Real Estate Foundation of BC.