We are proud to announce the Executive Director of ACT, Deborah Harford will be a member of The Expert Panel on Prioritizing Climate Change Risks, directed by the Council of Canadian Academies. The Treasury Board Secretariat has asked the Council of Canadian Academies to examine the top climate change risks facing both Canada and the federal government.

Dr. John Leggat will chair the multidisciplinary, multisectoral panel composed of individuals with expertise, experience, and demonstrated leadership in the natural sciences, social sciences, health sciences, engineering, government and policy, and economics and industry. The Expert Panel will address the following assessment question: What are the top climate change risks facing both Canada and the federal government, and their relative significance, and which have the most potential to be minimized by adaptation measures?

The expert panel is comprised of 8 members;

L. John Leggat, FCAE (Chair), former Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Technology, Department of National Defence
Elizabeth Beale, former President and CEO, Atlantic Provinces Economic Council; Commissioner, Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission; and Associate, Harris Centre for Regional Policy, Memorial University
Pierre Gosselin, Consulting Physician, Quebec National Public Health Institute; Clinical Professor, Université Laval and Institut national de la recherche scientifique; Coordinator Health, Ouranos
Bronwyn Hancock, Associate Vice-President Research Development, Yukon College
Deborah Harford, Executive Director, ACT (the Adaptation to Climate Change Team), Simon Fraser University
Paul Kovacs, Executive Director, Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
Barry Smit, O.Ont., FRSC, Professor Emeritus, Geography, University of Guelph
Roger B. Street, Research Fellow, Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford.

For more information on The Expert Panel on Prioritizing Climate Change Risks see here.