ACT is excited to share the announcement of the 2018 Real Estate Foundation Land Awards finalists. The Executive Director of ACT, Deborah Harford was asked to be a judge of this year’s award.

The Land Awards celebrate initiatives that demonstrate leadership, innovation, and collaboration in sustainable land use in British Columbia. The awards program recognizes outstanding projects and standout leaders who work to build healthy, resilient communities and natural environments.

There are three Land Awards, which recognize projects that raise the bar for innovation, collaboration, and sustainability in land use and real estate. Awards are given in three subject-matter categories, the following are the 2018 finalists:

Land Use and Conservation

  • BC First Nations Land Use Planning Handbook (Naut’sa mawt Tribal Council)
  • Municipal Natural Assets Initiative (Brooke and Associates, Smart Prosperity Institute, David Suzuki Foundation, and the Town of Gibsons)
  • Embracing Our Potential (Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association)

Built Environment

  • Olivia Skye (Atira Development Society)
  • BC’s Affordable Housing Plan (BC Non-Profit Housing Association)
  • BC Energy Step Code (Energy Step Code Council)
  • Nuutsumuut Lelum (Nanaimo Aboriginal Centre)

Fresh Water and Food Systems

  • Young Agrarians Land Matching Program (FarmFolk CityFolk)
  • Southwest BC Food System Design Project (Institute for Sustainable Food Systems at Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • POLIS Water Sustainability Project (POLIS Project on Ecological Governance at the University of Victoria)

There are also two awards for individuals: the Land Champion Award (Lana Lowe) and the Emerging Leader Award (Veronika Bylicki and Tesicca Truong).

For more information on the award finalists and gala event please see here.