Canadian local governments face a perfect storm of limited capacity, aging infrastructure, and climate change impacts. Leaders and staff are experiencing increasing public pressure to ‘future-proof’ communities from the projected impacts of dangerous climate change by both reducing emissions (mitigation) and preparing for impacts such as flooding, sea level rise, and heatwaves (adaptation).

Although mitigation and adaptation have often been planned separately, there are major benefits to integrating them, using a lens we refer to as low carbon resilience, or LCR. LCR is an approach designed to achieve strategic integration of climate change adaptation and mitigation, and holds potential for streamlining resources, identifying effective policy synergies, and pursuing co-benefit opportunities.

ACT’s Integrated Climate Action for BC Communities Initiative (ICABCCI) is designed to advance synergistic climate action in communities. Our team is committed to engaging a cross section of small/large, rural/urban BC local governments and First Nations over the next three years (2019-2022). In March 2019, ACT surveyed twelve communities that have expressed interest in joining the ICABCCI LCR partner network. Respondents reported the need for greater integration of climate action in planning, strategy, and implementation. Participants identified key LCR opportunities in asset management, corporate strategic planning, flood/stormwater planning, and in the coordinated implementation of their existing mitigation and adaptation plans. They also prioritized enabling conditions needed to pursue an LCR approach, including strong leadership, funding, coordination, and role clarity.

These results are helping to frame how ACT’s ICABCCI team will work with and support partner communities. This report highlights key ICABCCI survey results and summarizes conclusions and next steps.

Participating Communities:

  • Elkford
  • Gibsons
  • Port Moody
  • Prince George
  • Salmon Arm
  • Summerland
  • Surrey
  • Tsleil-Waututh Nation
  • Vancouver
  • Vernon
  • Whistler