Advisory Board

Dr. Stewart J. Cohen is senior researcher with the Adaptation and Impacts Research Division of Environment Canada, and an Adjunct Professor with the Department of Forest Resources Management, University of British Columbia. Dr. Cohen’s research interests are in climate change impacts and adaptation at the regional scale, and their link with sustainable development. He has been a member of various author teams for climate change impacts reports in Canada and the United States, and for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which was co-recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. Dr. Cohen is also a member of the advisory committee for the Columbia Basin Trust program–Communities Adapting to Climate Change, as well as the U.S. National Academy of Sciences Panel on Addressing the Challenges of Climate Change through the Behavioral and Social Sciences.

Dr. Richard G. Lipsey is professor emeritus of economics at SFU, Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research and member of their large-scale, international research project on Economic Growth and Policy. He has served as an independent policy advisor to many national organizations in both the UK and Canada and is a frequent commentator on economic policy issues in Canada. From 1983 until January 1989, he was senior economic advisor for the C.D. Howe Institute. Dr. Lipsey has authored several textbooks in economics that are used widely in North America and the U.K. He is an officer of the Order of Canada, a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and a past president of the Canadian Economic Society.

Dr. Nancy Olewiler is a Professor of Economics and Director of the Master of Public Policy program at SFU. Her key areas of research include natural resource economics, energy policy and environmental policy. She has published in academic journals, written two widely used textbooks, and produced numerous reports for the Canadian federal and provincial governments. These include research reports for the federal government’s Energy Options task force, the NRTEE’s Ecological Fiscal Reform program with a focus on energy and sustainability, and energy policy examples for environmental tax shifting. From 1990-1995 Nancy was Managing Editor of Canadian Public Policy. She is a resource person for the Environment and Economy Program for Southeast Asia (EEPSEA) and on the advisory board for BC Hydro and Translink.

Jon O’Riordan is a former Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Sustainable Resource Management in the British Columbia Provincial Government. He has completed 35 years in the public service, mostly with the Provincial Government in environmental management and land and resource planning. In his most recent position in Sustainable Resource Management he was responsible for completing six regional land and resource management plans. He also led the development of Land Information BC where all the provincial data and information on legal title and resource values on Crown and private lands are stored. This is the first integrated information base in the province and is a leading edge example of an integrated geo-referenced data base for any provincial jurisdiction in Canada.

Dr. Mark Winston is a Professor in Biological Sciences and Director of the Undergraduate Semester in Dialogue program at SFU. He is also Academic Director of the Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue. Recognized as the world’s leading expert on bees and pollination, Mark also has had a distinguished career writing and commenting on environmental issues and science policy. His award-winning book Nature Wars: People vs. Pests (Harvard University Press) is the most probing discussion of pesticide use since Silent Spring, and his most recent book, Travels in the Genetically Modified Zone (2002), is equally compelling. His work has appeared in The New York Times, The Sciences, Orion magazine and frequently on CBC radio and television and National Public Radio.